Recognition

Vienna Insurance Group employees also spend countless hours doing voluntary work during their spare time. The number of employees regularly involved in such activities can only be estimated based on the large number of nominations that have been submitted for the Award in Recognition of Commitment to Voluntary Activities, which was introduced in 2013. All employees are invited to nominate colleagues who they know do valuable voluntary work in aid of social causes and help the most vulnerable members of society. The winners are then selected from the nominations.

In 2020, Wiener Städtische Versicherungsverein presents the Award in Recognition of Commitment to Voluntary Activities for the eighth time. Within the VIG Wiener Versicherung Group, this award honours employees who engage in voluntary work in their spare time. The VIG Wiener Versicherung Group has over 25,000 employees in more than 50 companies and 30 countries, including Wiener Städtische Versicherung and Donau Versicherung in Austria.

In order to call attention to the importance of social cohesion and solidarity, especially in turbulent times such as these, the VIG main shareholder is honouring 20 instead of – as has been standard practice to date – ten voluntarily active employees with the Award in Recognition of Commitment to Voluntary Activities in 2020.

The 2020 award winners from a total of 11 countries volunteer in a wide variety of ways: from active engagement for autistic children and support for disadvantaged kids and families, inclusion of persons with special needs, help for breast cancer patients as well as people suffering from depression and anxiety, doing voluntary work for the fire brigade, ecologically valuable campaigns or taking care of dogs that are trained to become guide dogs for the blind.

Wiener Städtische Versicherungsverein presents these awards to highlight the importance of a sense of togetherness and solidarity in the community.

All winners of the Award in Recognition of Commitment to Voluntary Activities in 2020
All winners of the Award in Recognition of Commitment to Voluntary Activities in 2020

Anerkennung

Unzählige Stunden an ehrenamtlicher Arbeit leisten MitarbeiterInnen der Gesellschaften der Vienna Insurance Group Wiener Versicherung Gruppe auch in ihrer Freizeit. Wie viele sich privat regelmäßig engagieren, kann nur anhand der zahlreichen Nominierungen für den seit 2013 verliehenen „Anerkennungspreis für ehrenamtliches Engagement“ vermutet werden. Denn jedes Jahr sind alle MitarbeiterInnen dazu aufgerufen, ihre KollegInnen zu nominieren, von denen sie wissen, dass sie in ihrer Freizeit unbezahlt Großartiges im Sozialbereich leisten und sich für die schwächsten Mitglieder unserer Gesellschaft einsetzen. Aus allen Nominierungen werden schließlich die PreisträgerInnen gekürt.

 

2020 vergibt der Wiener Städtische Versicherungsverein zum achten Mal in Folge den „Anerkennungspreis für ehrenamtliches Engagement“. Diese Auszeichnung würdigt innerhalb der VIG Wiener Versicherung Gruppe Mitarbeiter, die sich ehrenamtlich in ihrer Freizeit engagieren. Zur VIG Wiener Versicherung Gruppe zählen über 25.000 Mitarbeiter in mehr als 50 Gesellschaften und 30 Ländern, darunter in Österreich die Wiener Städtische Versicherung und die Donau Versicherung.

Um besonders in turbulenten Zeiten wie diesen auf die Bedeutung von sozialem Zusammenhalt und Solidarität aufmerksam zu machen, würdigt der VIG-Hauptaktionär 2020 20 statt – wie bisher üblich – zehn freiwillig aktive Mitarbeiter mit dem „Anerkennungspreis für ehrenamtliches Engagement“.

Die Preisträgerinnen und Preisträger 2020 aus insgesamt elf Ländern setzen sich für Mitmenschen auf unterschiedlichste Weise ehrenamtlich ein: vom aktiven Engagement für autistische Kinder und der Unterstützung von benachteiligten Kindern und Familien, der Inklusion von Menschen mit besonderen Bedürfnissen, Hilfe für Brustkrebspatientinnen sowie Personen, die unter Depressionen und Angstzuständen leiden, Freiwilligentätigkeit bei der Feuerwehr, ökologisch wertvolle Aktionen oder die Betreuung von Hunden, die zu Blindenhunden ausgebildet werden.

Der Wiener Städtische Versicherungsverein sieht den Preis als Signal, um auf die Bedeutung von sozialem Zusammenhalt und Solidarität in der Gesellschaft aufmerksam zu machen.

Die PreisträgerInnen des „Anerkennungspreis für ehrenamtliches Engagement“ 2020.
Die PreisträgerInnen des „Anerkennungspreis für ehrenamtliches Engagement“ 2020.