Social Partnerships

© Volkshilfe
© Volkshilfe

Volkshilfe Österreich

Volkshilfe fundraising campaign: #MutSchaffen for children at risk of poverty

Child poverty is unfortunately also a sad reality in Austria. Corona has further worsened the financial situation of families at risk of poverty. Those who already had to get by with little before the crisis now find themselves in even greater distress: single parents, families with 3 or more children, precariously employed people. More than 300,000 children and young people are currently at risk of being poor. That is every fifth child in Austria. The goal of a Volkshilfe donation campaign throughout austria is to raise people’s awareness of this fact.

In addition to its existing cooperation with Volkshilfe, VIG’s main shareholder is supporting the children’s campaign by sponsoring 15 kids.


20,000 euros for children in need
For many needy families and single parents, the already tense situation has been significantly exacerbated by the corona crisis. “The weakest members of our society are particularly hard hit in times of crisis. We are therefore making an additional 20,000 euros available to provide financial support to children and their families affected by poverty during the pandemic”, emphasises Günter Geyer, former Chairman of the Managing Board of Wiener Städtische Versicherungsverein and current Supervisory Board President. In addition to its existing cooperation with Volkshilfe, VIG’s main shareholder is thus setting an important signal against child poverty in Austria. “As a long-standing partner of Volkshilfe, we also help needy children and their families in times of crisis”.

For Erich Fenninger, Director of Volkshilfe Austria, the support comes at the right time: “Volkshilfe receives many requests for support. Many who did not have much before are acutely affected by the crisis, many children are suffering. We will help these families. I would like to thank Günter Geyer for his long-standing and additional current support. Wiener Städtische Versicherungsverein is a partner you can rely on even in the crisis, and that is particularly valuable. Many thanks.”


The Volkshilfe Österreich charity has been dedicated to fight poverty and social exclusion since its establishment in 1947. There is also a need for significant action on this front in Austria – roughly half a million people in the country, a quarter of them children and youngsters, are affected by extreme poverty.

Wiener Städtische Versicherungsverein supports Volkshilfe as part of its commitment to social projects.

Visit www.volkshilfe.at (German only) for more details.

Kooperationen im Sozialbereich

© Volkshilfe
© Volkshilfe

Volkshilfe Österreich

Spendenkampagne der Volkshilfe: #MutSchaffen für armutsbetroffene Kinder

Kinderarmut ist leider auch in Österreich traurige Realität. Corona hat die finanzielle Situation armutsgefährdeter Familien zusätzlich verschlechtert. Wer schon vor der Krise mit wenig auskommen musste, gerät nun noch mehr in Bedrängnis: Alleinerziehende, Familien ab 3 Kindern, prekär Beschäftigte. Über 300.000 Kinder und Jugendliche sind aktuell armutsgefährdet. Das ist jedes fünfte Kind in Österreich. Diese Tatsache ins Bewusstsein der Menschen zu rücken, ist das Ziel einer österreichweiten Spenden-Kampagne der Volkshilfe.

Der VIG-Hauptaktionär fördert – zusätzlich zu seiner bestehenden Kooperation mit der Volkshilfe – die Kinderkampagne mit der Übernahme von 15 Kinderpatenschaften.


20.000 Euro für Kinder in Not
Für viele notleidende Familien und Alleinerziehende hat sich die ohnehin angespannte Situation durch die Corona-Krise deutlich verschärft. „Die Schwächsten unserer Gesellschaft trifft es in Krisenzeiten besonders hart. Deswegen stellen wir zusätzliche 20.000 Euro zur Verfügung, um armutsbetroffene Kinder und ihre Familien während der Pandemie finanziell unterstützen zu können“, betont Dr. Günter Geyer, ehemaliger Vorstandsvorsitzender des Wiener Städtischen Versicherungsvereins und jetziger Aufsichtsratspräsident des VIG-Hauptaktionärs. Damit setzt der VIG-Hauptaktionär zusätzlich zu seiner bestehenden Kooperation mit der Volkshilfe ein wichtiges Zeichen gegen Kinderarmut in Österreich. „Als langjähriger Partner der Volkshilfe greifen wir auch in Krisenzeiten bedürftigen Kindern und ihren Familien unter die Arme.“

Für den Direktor der Volkshilfe Österreich Erich Fenninger kommt die Unterstützung zur rechten Zeit: „Die Volkshilfe erreichen sehr viele Ansuchen um Unterstützung. Viele, die schon vorher nicht viel hatten, sind akut von der Krise betroffen, viele Kinder leiden. Diesen Familien werden wir helfen. Ich bedanke mich bei Dr. Günter Geyer für die langjährige und die zusätzliche aktuelle Unterstützung. Der Wiener Städtische Versicherungsverein ist ein Partner, auf den man sich auch in der Krise verlassen kann, das ist besonders viel wert. Herzlichen Dank.“


Die Volkshilfe Österreich setzt sich seit ihrer Gründung aktiv gegen Armut und Ausgrenzung ein. Auch in Österreich ist der Handlungsbedarf groß, denn knapp eine halbe Million Menschen, ein Viertel davon Kinder und Jugendliche, sind von akuter Armut betroffen.

Der Wiener Städtische Versicherungsverein unterstützt die Volkshilfe im Rahmen seines sozialen Engagements.

 

http://www.volkshilfe.at/cms/cms.php